Daily Archives: November 23, 2014

Forgetting

Moving for the sake of motion.

Skinned,
stolen washing,
a fight in the garden.

10. I remember forcing myself to forget about the time my Jack Russell was killed. She was skinned by the neighbour’s dog.

8. I forgot to lock the back garden gate. Someone got in and stole all our washing off the line.

17. Ouma used to grab us by the ears for things like fighting in the garden and messing her kitchen floor with old guavas.

3. I don’t recall enjoying the beach after my brother buried me in the sand and told me he would leave me for the crabs to eat.

5. Someone reminded me of the car guard named “Peace”. Pronounced “piss”.

14. Mom asked me to please forget about the time she cut off all my hair. It was over 10 years ago for heaven’s sake.

20. The boy in grade two showed me his privates. I felt sick.

12. I so desperately wanted to forget about the boy who said he was afraid of me and that I brought out the worst in him.

Leaning into the wind
I am child
screaming with all her might.